Everything About PMI Project Management Methodology

pmi information

What is PMI® Project Management Methodology?

PMI® Background

In the 1960’s top industries such as aerospace, construction and defence started using project management. In 1969 people from these industries and academia to come together to create The Project Management Institute ie.PMI®. The PMI® was founded as a non-profit organization. PMI® described its objectives in 1975 as to “foster recognition of the need for professionalism in project management; provide a forum for the free exchange of project management problems, solutions and applications; coordinate industrial and academic research efforts; develop common terminology and techniques to improve communications; provide interface between users and suppliers of hardware and software systems; and to provide guidelines for instruction and career development in the field of project management.”

In the 1980’s the PMI® started to look at standardizing project management processes and approaches. In 1996 the PMI produced the first Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK®). As of 2013 there was 590416 Active Project Manager Professionals.

PMI® Certifications


  • Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM®)
  • Project Management Professional (PMP®)
  • Program Management Professional (PgMP®)
  • Portfolio Management Professional (PfMP®)
  • PMI® Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP®)
  • PMI® Risk Management Professional (PMI-RMP®)
  • PMI® Scheduling Professional (PMI-SP®)
  • PMI® Professional in Business Analysis (PMI-PBA®)


  • PMI® Certified OPM3 Professional

PMI® Trademark

You can identify PMI products by looking for the PMI trademark:

PMI Registered Trademark

PMI® Standards

The standards PMI® develop and publish fall into three main categories:

  • Foundational Standards
  • Practice Standards and Frameworks
  • PMI® Standards Extensions

Here is a list of the standards belonging to each category:

Foundational Standards

  • A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK Guide) – Fifth Edition (2013). Recognized by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) as American National Standard BSR/PMI 99-001-2013.
  • The Standard for Program Management—Third Edition (2013). Recognized by ANSI as American National Standard BSR/PMI 08-002-2013.
  • The Standard for Portfolio Management—Third Edition (2013). Recognized by ANSI as American National Standard BSR/PMI 08-003-2013.
  • Organizational Project Management Maturity Model (OPM3) | Knowledge Foundation—Second Edition (2008). Recognized by ANSI as ANSI/PMI 08-004-2008.

Practice Standards and Frameworks

  • Practice Standard for Project Risk Management (2009)
  • Practice Standard for Earned Value Management—Second Edition (2011)
  • Practice Standard for Project Configuration Management (2007)
  • Practice Standard for Work Breakdown Structures—Second Edition (2006)
  • Practice Standard for Scheduling—Second Edition (2011)
  • Practice Standard for Project Estimating (2010)
  • Project Manager Competency Development Framework—Second Edition (2007)

PMI® Standards Extensions

  • Construction Extension to the PMBOK Guide—Third Edition (2007)
  • Government Extension to the PMBOK Guide—Third Edition (2006)
  • Software Extension to the PMBOK Guide—Fifth Edition (2013)

Combined Standards Glossary

PMI® publishes a combined glossary listing acronyms, terms and definitions:

  • Combined Standards Glossary – Third Edition. Recognized by ANSI as American National Standard PMI-978-1-933890-27-2.

According to PMI®, standards are developed by volunteers in an open, consensus-based process including a public exposure draft process that allows the standard draft to be viewed and changes suggested.

PMI® Awards

PMI® has an award ceremony every November during the PMI® North America Congress. In the awards they recognise various categories such as project organizations, scholars, authors, professionals and continuing professional education providers.

Local PMI® Chapters

Once a member of the PMI® you have the opportunity to join a local chapter in your country. With over 60 local chapters you are provided an opportunity to meet peers, make new contacts, network and build knowledge. You can get a list of all local PMI chapter’s here.

pmp certification training

If you have already decided you want to proceed with the PMP designation you should check out the next section where we discuss how you can apply for the PMP.



Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *